Rohatsu Sesshin Talk 6 of 6: A Guide to the Museum Called “Me” (Part 3)

To listen to this podcast please enter or confirm your email address.

To listen to the free dharma talks on this site, we'd like to invite you to our mailing list. After entering your email, this page will reload, and you will have instant and unlimited access to all of the dharma podcasts on this site.

“… our life, our very existence becomes an ongoing service …”

serve others

Description: This teisho is the sixth and final talk from the 2017 Rohatsu sesshin. Henry revisits the four levels of “the museum called ‘me,’” discussed in Parts 1 & 2, in order to clarify a few points. The element of “stop and see” is intrinsic to every level. Every level is complete and nothing is lacking, which may make us feel that we are done, that “this is it…I’ve got it!” But in fact it’s possible that while that may be true, on the other hand we are never done. Why are we never done? To address this question, Henry takes a look at a koan about Master Yakusan which leads into the topic of how best to serve beings, given the great benefits of this practice. As we get clearer, our life, our very existence becomes an ongoing service.

Post & Featured image: Friends by skeezeCCO Public Domain.

Do you like what you're hearing?

You can show your gratitude for Mountain Cloud podcasts by making a one-time gift, or by becoming a supporting member.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest